Emergency Medicine Faculty

Mark Sparkman, MD

Associate Professor / Clinical
EMS Fellowship Program Director

Department: Emergency Medicine
Email: sparkmanm@uthscsa.edu

Board Certifications: American Board of Emergency Medicine

University of Texas Southwestern, Dallas, TX-M.D.
Texas Lutheran University-Seguin, TX-B.A. Chemistry

Postgraduate training:
Parkland Memorial Hospital, Dallas, TX-Transitional
EM Summa Health System, Akron, OH

Research interests: EMS Disaster Preparedness. ED Simulation Safety record

Clinical interests: Disaster Medicine, EMS pre-hospital care & transport

Feasibility of a novel veno-veno circuit as a central rewarming method in a severely hypothermic canine model. Haughn C, Gallo U, Raimonde AJ, Evancho-Chapman M, Arends D, Schmidt SP, Beezley J, Sparkman M. Current Surgery, 2003 July-August;60(4):442-8.

Biosketch:Following a 10 year career as a Paramedic / Firefighter, Dr. Sparkman received his MD from UT Southwestern, Dallas, TX in 1996. He completed his Internship training at Parkland Memorial Hospital in 1997 and Emergency Medicine Residency at Summa Health System in Akron, OH in 2000. He joined the faculty at the UTHSCSA in July 2000. Dr. Sparkman is Medical Director of the San Antonio College EMS Associate Degree Program, San Antonio College CME EMS Academy, and Air Medical. He has also served as the Medical Director of University Hospital's Emergency Department. Additionally he has served as the co-chair of the Emergency Center Design committee and the EM liaison for UTHSCSA Emergency Medicine and many of the EMS services in the surrounding region. Dr. Sparkman leads a team to revise our Emergency Center Triage guidelines and actively participates in multiple committees including Acute Care, Product Evaluation, Transfer Review, STRAC Regional Cardiac and Stroke Care.

Walter A. Hoyt award for Basic Sciences Research
EMS Can Do Gold Award for EMS activities.
EM Housestaff Rotation "Excellence Teaching Award"-2002-2003

Professional societies:


Contact: WebTeam@uthscsa.edu
Updated: 2/22/2017
Copyright © 2011-2013
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio